No. Not all alcohol is vegan or vegetarian-friendly. While most hard liquor is vegan-friendly, some wines and beers contain isinglass which is derived from the bladder of fish. It’s used in the filtering process and therefore makes some alcohol non-vegan/vegetarian.
Of all foods and beverages, you would think that alcohol would be on the list of vegetarian- and vegan-approved foods, right? Well…only partially right. Animal-derived products are used during the refining or clarifying process of many types of alcohol. In this episode of the Vegetarian Zen podcast, we answer the question: Is Alcohol Vegetarian-Friendly?
Thanks for tuning in to this episode of the Vegetarian Zen Podcast! If you find value in our podcast and listen on iTunes, please consider leaving us a rating and review.
Here’s what we mention in this episode:
Resources Used for this Episode
Quotes of the Week
Alcohol won’t solve all your problems. Then again, neither will milk.